IMPERIAL HONOURS AND DECORATIONS.

the following: June 11. The Hon. Frederick Eustace Barker, D.C.L., Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick, the Hon. Charles Peers Davidson, D.C.L., Chief Justice of the Superior Court of the Province of Quebec, the Hon. Hugh John Macdonald, K.C., formerly Minister of the Interior of Canada. June 3. To be Companions of the Order of St. Michael and St. George: James George Aylwin Creighton, K.C., Law Clerk of the Senate, Alexander Laing, of the Pacific Cable Board. Jan. 1, 1914. Charles Jerome Jones, I.S.O., Assistant Secretary to the Governor General, Aubrey White, Deputy Minister of Lands and Forests, Ontario. June 3. To be members of the Imperial Service Order (I.S.O.): William Cochrane Bowles, Chief Clerk, English Votes and Proceedings of The House of Commons, William Joseph Lynch. Chief of the Patent Office.

Imperial Service Medal.—The following have been awarded the Imperial Service Medal in recognition of long and meritorious service:

William Burrows, letter carrier, Winnipeg; Charles Reeves, letter carrier, Toronto, and the following employees of the Department of Railways and Canals: Michael Berrigan, section foreman, Bedford, P.E. Island; Joseph Henry Berry, storeman, Halifax; George Cameron, carpenter, Halifax; Hazin Carter, blacksmith, Moncton; James Ross Cummings, station-master, Truro; James Currie, trackman, Alberton; Frederick Gagnon, section foreman, St. Simon; Charles Grant, machinist, Moncton; Patrick Hopper, foreman blacksmith, Moncton; James McDermott, engineman, Moncton; Alexander McDougall, crossing watchman, Antigonish; Hector McKinnon, checker, Pictou; George Noiles, section foreman, Pictou; Martin O'Brien, crossing watchman, Halifax; Samuel Watson, engineman, Moncton; John Dunn Yerxa, conductor, Fredericton.

Official Appointments.—June 27. James White, F.R.G.S., to be Assistant to the Chairman and Secretary to the Commission of Conservation, with the rank of deputy head of a department. August 21. Lieut-Colonel Arthur Percy Sherwood, C.M.G., M.V.O., of Ottawa, to be Chief Commissioner of Police within Canada. August 25. William Himsworth, of Ottawa, Assistant Deputy Minister and Secretary of the Department of Inland Revenue, to be Deputy Minister of the said Department from October 1st, 1912. Joseph Ulric Vincent, of Ottawa, to be Assistant Deputy Minister of the said Department. September 20. George Wilson Taylor, of the Department of Inland Revenue, to be Secretary of the said Department from October 1st, 1913. October 6. Lieut.-Colonel F. D. Farquhar, D.S.O., Coldstream Guards, to be Secretary and Military Secretary to H.R.H. the Governor General in the room and stead of Lieut.-Colonel H. C. Lowther, C.M.G., M.V.O., D.S.O., resigned. October 11. Duncan Campbell Scott, of the Department of Indian Affairs, to be Deputy Superintendent General of the said Department in the room and stead of Frank Pedley, resigned. November 19. Captain Edward Harrington Martin. R.N. (retired), to be Honorary Aide-de-Camp to H.R.H. the Governor General.

General Thanksgiving.—Monday, October 20, 1913, was observed as a general day of thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest and other blessings with which Canada has been favoured during the year.